Well, it's been almost a month since I've posted here. You know the saying: There's no better time than the present! Mom is upstairs having a nap, and Wee-man is in his crib right next to me. We've got the tunes going and the conditions outside make being down here in the basement about the coziest place on Earth.
Sadly, (but fortunately) for me I've had the pleasure of being on the rig for the last 3 weeks, while Ethan drives both Anni and my mother in law to the brink of madness! Seemingly he has been very colic-y from the day I left. It's a truly sad, (& amazing) feat to hear the banshee like roar of a 8 pound ball of fury that is TOTALLY a product of the two of us. With each passing day it becomes easier and easier to see that
#1. He is my son
#2. There is no denying it.
With me being away at work I've missed a a few milestones already. He's more than doubled his weight since i've last seen him. He's 9 lbs now and he smiles. Although I seriously wonder if he does that because he's genuinely happy, or that he's just filled another diaper... Maybe it's a combination of both.
We're all ready for Christmas over here, his first one of course, and most likely the cheapest one we will EVER know. I'm not complaining everyone hears that "having a baby will change your life" but most people will just brush it off as a load of crap. Once you actually have him in your hands, and the reality has sunken in, no wait, after childbirth, reality doesn't really "sink in," it smacks you upside the head with a 10 pound hammer when you're up at 3 am feeding him. Yes it's rewarding, but in the beginning it completely turns you into one of the walking dead, (just with more excitement) & it kinda makes you somewhat jaded to the goings on in the rest of the world.
I guess regardless of whether or not i have more to say Wee-man says that is all the sleep i need until lunchtime.
Merry Christmas everyone,
-DKT
